Ral Garca and Javi Manquillo win Liga Primera division with Atletico Madrid

Web Oficial Atltico de Madrid
19-05-2014 |

Simeone’s team won the League after an epic fixture at the Camp Nou. The Atléticos overcame the injuries of Diego Costa and Arda in the first half with teamwork and sacrifice.

The match began as was expected, both teams very intense, pressuring at the top when the ball was in play by the rival team. Simeone’s men took the field convinced of what they had to do, and demonstrated it, clearly and with personality when they had the ball. The first half started with two pieces of bad news for the Atléticos because Diego Costa and Arda had to be substituted after being injured. Still, the team kept on fighting together to overcome a complicated moment. Alexis’s goal for Barcelona made Simeone’s men fight harder. The interval was reached with an Atlético de Madrid that was dominating after magnificently recovering from Barça’s goal.

When they restarted, Simeone’s men gave their all and in the first minutes they stepped over a Barcelona who couldn’t respond. The prize to the siege came with a header goal from Godín after a corner kick. From that moment on, Barcelona was pressured and tried their best to score the goal that would give them the title, but to no avail. Both teams’ styles were trying to be reflected on the pitch by both sides. From minute thirty of the second half, Barcelona tested Simeone’s defensive system, to which they responded in the best possible way. With the final whistle, madness ensued between the Atlético players. They were LEAGUE CHAMPIONS!!!

- Match stats:

Fútbol Club Barcelona: Pinto, Piqué, Adriano, Dani Alves, Fábregas (Xavi, 77´), Iniesta, Mascherano, Busquets (Song, 57´), Pedro (Neymar, 62´), Alexis, Messi.

Atlético de Madrid: Courtois, Juanfran, Filipe Luis, Godín, Miranda, Koke, Gabi, Arda (Raúl García, 23´), Villa, Diego Costa (Adrián, 17´ (Sosa, 72´)), Tiago.

Goals: 1-0, min 34, Alexis. 1-1, min 49, Godín.

Referee: Mateu Lahoz. Booked the following players. F.C. Barcelona: Piqué (5´), Messi (45´ + 3´), Busquets (45 + 3´), Song (74´), Mascherano (90´). Atlético de Madrid: Godín (36´), Tiago (37´), Filipe Luis (69´), Raúl García (92´).
Events: Liga BBVA 38th round fixture played at the Camp Nou Stadium. 96.673 spectators.


- Crónica de clubatleticodemadrid.com